40 Pleasant St
Portsmouth, NH 03801
603.427.9197

OPEN 7 DAYS
SUN - TUE : 10am–10pm
WED & THU : 10am–midnight
FRI - SAT : 10am–1am

Facebookfind us on facebook
Facebookand instagram

upcoming

Open Mic
Wed. December 11, 7:30pm

Effen Pief-tet ($5)
Thu. December 12, 8pm

Mt. Pleasant ($5)
Fri. December 13, 9pm

Moonraiders ($5)
Sat. December 14, 8pm

Book & Bar Lucky 7 Birthday Party!
Sun. December 15

Open Mic
Wed. December 18, 7:30pm

Beat Night
Thu. December 19, 7pm

Mattie & Debbie ($5)
Fri. December 20, 9pm

Jim Dozet ($5)
Sat. December 21, 8pm

Abrielle Scharff "Abby Holidays" Show ($15 presale)
Mon. December 23, 7pm

Open 10 to 6 for Christmas Eve
Tue. December 24

Closed for Christmas
Wed. December 25

Paul Heckel & Tim Webb
Thu. December 26, 7pm

Ali McGuirk ($7)
Fri. December 27, 8pm

When Particles Collide ($5)
Sat. December 28, 8pm

Henna Night with Jess
Tue. December 31, 5:30pm

NYE show TBD!
Tue. December 31

Danielle Miraglia, Jen Kearney + Amy Petty ($12 presale; $15 at door)
Sat. February 15, 9pm

Francesca Blanchard ($7 presale; $10 at door)
Fri. February 21, 9pm


Book and Bar photo Book and Bar photo Book and Bar photo Book and Bar photo

OUR BOOKS

Books are here to stay. Gizmos and screens are fun and convenient; they have their place—up the road toward the malls. Here, down in the center of Portsmouth, we’re about browsing and about celebrating well written, well designed books on all subjects. We buy books through the door from customers, travel to purchase significant private collections, and cherry-pick our way through warehouses all over the northeast for remainder books with quality content. Our genres range from academic titles, philosophy, and the social sciences; poetry, essays and memoirs; photography, architecture and arts; and of course, fiction, cookbooks and children’s.

Although we can't look anything up for you as we don't log our books, we are always able to guide you in the right direction and hope that you find what you're searching for or something similar. Our stock rotates quickly due to the way we purchase and sell so if you find a book you love we recommend buying it; it might not be here on your next visit! Think of books as treasures and take your time hunting for them, preferably with a beverage of your choice in hand. We always support reading and drinking.

Our Book Buying Policy

We buy books on an as needed basis. This varies throughout the year; please call or email and speak with a manager regarding possible sales.
We offer cash for your books.
We are selective and only accept the books we purchase based upon content, quality, and need.
Please do not drop books off without speaking to a manager.
We do not accept donations.
Please call the store and ask for Sally, our book curator, with any other questions.