40 Pleasant St
Portsmouth, NH 03801
603.427.9197

OPEN 7 DAYS
SUN - TUE : 10am–10pm
WED & THU : 10am–midnight
FRI - SAT : 10am–1am

Facebookfind us on facebook
Facebookand instagram

upcoming

Open Mic
Wed. September 18, 7:30pm

Beat Night
Thu. September 19, 7pm

A Night of Hope & Healing Poetry Benefit
Fri. September 20, 8pm

C. W. Stoneking with Jazzputin ($10 presale; $15 on door)
Sat. September 21, 9pm

Mon. September 23
Closing at 4:30pm for Allagash Beer Dinner (a ticketed event)

Henna Night with Jess & music by NH Vintage Vinyl
Tue. September 24, 5:30pm

Open Mic
Wed. September 25, 7:30pm

Kim Mayo CD release party
Thu. September 26, 8pm

Klaxton ($5)
Fri. September 27, 9pm

100 Thousand Poets for Change
Sat. September 28, 12pm

Oktoberfest with Jack's Abby
Sat. September 28, 5pm

Great Bay Sailor singalong
Sun. September 29, 1pm

Book & Bar[s] featuring the Palmer Squares and more ($15)
Mon. September 30, 8pm

Open Mic
Wed. October 2, 7:30pm

Read Free or Die
Thu. October 3, 7pm

Weird Turn Pro ($5)
Thu. October 3, 9pm

Kuf Knotz / Christine Elise / Myles Bullen ($5)
Fri. October 4, 9pm

Peter Gallway ($5)
Sat. October 5, 9pm

The Elvis Room at Book & Bar: Poems & Stories Night Fundraiser
Sun. October 6, 5pm

Writers' Night Out
Mon. October 7, 7pm

Open Mic
Wed. October 9, 7:30pm

Matthew Mercury ($5)
Thu. October 10, 8pm

Borscht ($5)
Fri. October 11, 9pm

Katrina Marie Band ($5)
Sat. October 12, 9pm

A special Elvis Room themed Open Mic
Wed. October 16, 7:30pm

Undead Beat Night
Thu. October 17, 7pm

Janae ($5)
Fri. October 18, 9pm

That One Eyed Kid ($5)
Sat. October 19, 9pm

Klaxton ($5)
Mon. October 21, 7pm

Open Mic
Wed. October 23, 7:30pm

The Burning Hell ($5)
Thu. October 24, 9pm

Liz Bills ($5)
Fri. October 25, 9pm

Ben Baldwin ($5)
Sat. October 26, 8pm

Henna Night with Jess & California Tap Takeover
Tue. October 29, 5:30pm

Open Mic ($5)
Wed. October 30, 7:30pm

Bitter Pill ($5)
Thu. October 31, immediately following the parade!

Kemp Harris ($12 presale; $15 at door)
Sat. November 2, 8pm

Nobody's Girl ($20 presale; $22 at door)
Fri. November 15, 7pm


our books

OUR BOOKS

Books are here to stay. Gizmos and screens are fun and convenient; they have their place—up the road toward the malls. Here, down in the center of Portsmouth, we’re about browsing, about celebrating well written, well designed books on all subjects. Together we have over seventy-five years of experience buying and selling books. We buy books through the door from customers, travel to purchase significant private collections, and cherry-pick our way through warehouses all over the northeast. One of us specializes in academic titles, philosophy, and the social sciences; another, a poet and memoirist, specializes in the arts; and our third partner specializes in cookbooks and children’s. Our stock changes weekly as the three of us love to hunt down and purchase new stuff.

Our Book Buying Policy

We buy books on an as needed basis. This varies throughout the year; please call or email and speak with a manager regarding possible sales.
We offer cash for your books.
We are selective and only accept the books we purchase based upon content, quality, and need.
Please do not drop books off without speaking to a manager.
We do not accept donations.