40 Pleasant St
Portsmouth, NH 03801
603.427.9197

OPEN 7 DAYS
SUN - TUE : 10am–10pm
WED & THU : 10am–midnight
FRI - SAT : 10am–1am

Facebookfind us on facebook

upcoming

Open Mic
Wed. August 8, 7:30pm

Aisha Burns ($7 advance; $10 door)
Thu. August 9, 9pm

Emma Cook & the Questionable Company ($7)
Fri. August 10, 9pm

The Joshua Incident ($5)
Sat. August 11, 9pm

Andrew Jalbert Brunch
Sun. August 12, 11am

Bluegrass Night with Old Time Dave Talmage
Tue. August 14, 7pm

Open Mic
Wed. August 15, 7:30pm

Beat Night
Thu. August 16, 7pm

Chris Klaxton ($5)
Fri. August 17, 9pm

Spencer Albee ($8 advance; $10 door)
Sat. August 18, 9pm

Vinylfest 2018 with Dogfish Head Brewery
Sun, August 19, all day

Hip Hop Night
Mon. August 20, 7pm

Bluegrass Night with Old Time Dave Talmage
Tue. August 21, 7pm

Open Mic
Wed. August 22, 7:30pm

Sans Souci ($5)
Thu. August 23, 8pm

Kate Redgate ($5)
Fri. August 24, 9pm

Ray DeMarco ($5)
Sat. August 25, 7pm

Henna with Jess
Tue. August 28, 5:30pm

Bluegrass Night with Old Time Dave Talmage
Tue. August 28, 7pm

Open Mic
Wed. August 29, 7:30pm

The Carol & Tom Project ($5)
Thu. August 30, 8pm

The Kenny Brothers ($5)
Fri. August 31, 9pm

When Particles Collide ($5)
Sat. September 1, 9pm

Lyle Brewer Brunch
Sun. September 2, 12pm

Bluegrass Night with Old Time Dave Talmage
Tue. September 4, 7pm

Open Mic
Wed. September 5, 7:30pm

Holystone ($5)
Thu. September 6, 9pm

Jon Ross Trio ($5)
Fri. September 7, 8pm

Bobby Keyes ($7)
Sat. September 8, 8pm

Bluegrass Night with Old Time Dave Talmage
Tue. September 11, 7pm

Open Mic
Wed. September 12, 7:30pm

Ghost Wolves ($10)
Thu. September 13, 9pm

Great Bay Sailor ($10)
Fri. September 14, 7pm

David Huckfelt (of The Pines) ($10)
Sat. September 15, 9pm

Open Mic
Wed. September 19, 7:30pm

Beat Night
Thu. September 20, 7pm

Danielle Miraglia ($5)
Fri. September 21, 8pm

Hadacol Bouncers ($10)
Sat. September 22, 7pm

Henna Night with Jess
Tue. September 25, 5:30pm

Open Mic
Wed. September 26, 7:30pm

Steamboats ($5)
Fri. September 28, 9pm

100 Thousand Poets for Change
Sat. September 29, 12pm

Oktoberfest
Sat. September 29, 3pm

Maritime Singers
Sun. September 30, 1pm

Larry Campbell & Teresa Williams ($20 advance; $25 door)
Fri. November 2, 8pm

 


our books

OUR BOOKS

Books are here to stay. Gizmos and screens are fun and convenient; they have their place—up the road toward the malls. Here, down in the center of Portsmouth, we’re about browsing, about celebrating well written, well designed books on all subjects. Together we have over seventy-five years of experience buying and selling books. We buy books through the door from customers, travel to purchase significant private collections, and cherry-pick our way through warehouses all over the northeast. One of us specializes in academic titles, philosophy, and the social sciences; another, a poet and memoirist, specializes in the arts; and our third partner specializes in cookbooks and children’s. Our stock changes weekly as the three of us love to hunt down and purchase new stuff.

Our Book Buying Policy

We buy books daily but ask that you call for an appointment.
We offer cash and/or store credit for your books.
We are selective and only accept the books we purchase.
We do not accept donations.