40 Pleasant St
Portsmouth, NH 03801
603.427.9197

OPEN 7 DAYS
SUN - THU : 10a–10p
FRI - SAT : 10a–midnight

Facebookfind us on facebook

upcoming

ShakesBEERience
Mon. January 15, 6:30pm

Open mic
Wed. January 17, 7pm

Beat Night
Thu. January 18, 7:30pm

Hadacol Bouncers ($8)
Fri. January 19, 8pm

Two Tined Fork, Damasa ($5)
Sat. January 20, 8pm

Open Mic
Wed. January 24, 7pm

Kate Redgate, Tristan Omand & Courtney Brocks ($5)
Fri. January 26, 9pm

Honest Millie ($5)
Sat. January 27, 8pm

Open Mic
Wed. January 31, 7pm

Jon Ross' Rockin' Rhythm Revue ($5)
Fri. February 2, 9pm

Young Frontier ($5)
Sat. February 3, 9pm

Open Mic
Wed. February 7, 7pm

Ellis Paul ($20)
Fri. February 9, 8pm

Cormac McCarthy, legendary NH singer-songwriter ($5)
Sat. February 10, 8pm

Drink 'n' Draw
Tue. February 13, 7pm

Open Mic
Wed. February 14, 7:30pm

Beat Night
Thu. February 15, 7pm

The Trichomes, Dogs That Know They're Dogs ($10)
Fri. February 16, 8pm

Jordan Tirrell-Wysocki Trio ($10)
Sat. February 17, 8pm

ShakesBEERience
Mon. February 19, 6:30pm

Open Mic
Wed. February 21, 7:30pm

 


 


our books

OUR BOOKS

Books are here to stay. Gizmos and screens are fun and convenient; they have their place—up the road toward the malls. Here, down in the center of Portsmouth, we’re about browsing, about celebrating well written, well designed books on all subjects. Together we have over seventy-five years of experience buying and selling books. We buy books through the door from customers, travel to purchase significant private collections, and cherry-pick our way through warehouses all over the northeast. One of us specializes in academic titles, philosophy, and the social sciences; another, a poet and memoirist, specializes in the arts; and our third partner specializes in cookbooks and children’s. Our stock changes weekly as the three of us love to hunt down and purchase new stuff.

Our Book Buying Policy

We buy books daily but ask that you call for an appointment.
We offer cash and/or store credit for your books.
We are selective and only accept the books we purchase.
We do not accept donations.