40 Pleasant St
Portsmouth, NH 03801
603.427.9197

OPEN 7 DAYS
SUN - TUE : 10am–10pm
WED & THU : 10am–midnight
FRI - SAT : 10am–1am

Facebookfind us on facebook

upcoming

Beat Night
Thu. January 17, 7pm

B3 Kings ($5)
Fri. January 18, 9pm

Phaneuf & Dozet ($5)
Sat. January 19, 9pm

Writers' Night Out
Mon. January 21, 7pm

Open Mic
Wed. January 23, 7:30pm

Read Free or Die
Thu. January 24, 7pm

Teeba ($5)
Thu. January 24, 10pm

Chris Klaxton Quartet ($5)
Fri. January 25, 9pm

GA 20 Blues ($5)
Sat. January 26, 9pm

Book & Bar(s) Hip Hop Night
Mon. January 28, 7pm

Henna Night with Jess
Tue. January 29, 5:30pm

Open Mic
Wed. January 30, 7:30pm

Katie Dobbins ($5)
Fri. February 1, 9pm

Young Frontier ($5)
Sat. February 2, 9pm

Writers' Night Out
Mon. February 4, 7pm

Open Mic
Wed. February 6, 7:30pm

Allysen Callery ($5)
Thu. February 7, 8pm

Dan Blakeslee & The Calabash Club ($7 advance)
Fri. February 8, 9pm

Hickory Horned Devils ($5)
Sat. February 9, 9pm

Chris Klaxton Quartet ($5)
Mon. February 11, 7pm

Open Mic
Wed. February 13, 7:30pm

Read Free or Die
Thu. February 14, 7pm

The Western Den, Sam Moss ($10 advance; $15 at door)
Fri. February 15, 9pm

Carol Coronis & Tom Richter ($5)
Sat. February 16, 8pm

Book & Bar(s) Hip Hop Night
Mon. February 18, 7pm

Open Mic
Wed. February 20, 7:30pm

Beat Night
Thu. February 21, 7pm

Gretchen & The Pickpockets ($7 advance; $10 at door)
Fri. February 22, 9pm

Rebecca Loebe w/ Connor Garvey ($18 advance)
Sat. February 23, 8pm

Henna Night with Jess
Tue. Febraruy 26, 5:30pm

Open Mic
Wed. February 27, 7:30pm

Jason Anick Trio ($10 advance; $15 at door)
Thu. February 28, 8pm

Dominic Lavoie
Fri. March 1, 9pm ($5 advance; $7 at door)


our books

OUR BOOKS

Books are here to stay. Gizmos and screens are fun and convenient; they have their place—up the road toward the malls. Here, down in the center of Portsmouth, we’re about browsing, about celebrating well written, well designed books on all subjects. Together we have over seventy-five years of experience buying and selling books. We buy books through the door from customers, travel to purchase significant private collections, and cherry-pick our way through warehouses all over the northeast. One of us specializes in academic titles, philosophy, and the social sciences; another, a poet and memoirist, specializes in the arts; and our third partner specializes in cookbooks and children’s. Our stock changes weekly as the three of us love to hunt down and purchase new stuff.

Our Book Buying Policy

We buy books daily but ask that you call for an appointment.
We offer cash and/or store credit for your books.
We are selective and only accept the books we purchase.
We do not accept donations.