40 Pleasant St
Portsmouth, NH 03801
603.427.9197

OPEN 7 DAYS
SUN - THU : 10a–10p
FRI - SAT : 10a–midnight

Facebookfind us on facebook

upcoming

Pandafan, Abrielle Scharff CD release party ($5)
Thu. August 17, 7pm

Cold Engines ($5)
Fri. August 18, 9pm

Ben Baldwin and the Big Note ($5)
Sat. August 19, 8pm

Beat Night
Thu. August 24, 7pm

Lucie Therrien and Carol Coronis ($5)
Fri. August 25, 8pm

People Like You ($5)
Sat. August 26, 9pm

Say Darling ($5)
Sat. September 2, 9pm

Nocturnal Adoration Society, with Jimmy Ryan ($5)
Fri. September 8, 9pm

Drink 'n' Draw
Tue. September 12, 7pm

Bobby Keyes Trio ($5)
Fri. September 15, 9pm

Great Bay Sailor ($5)
Sat. September 16, 8pm

The Scharff Brothers ($5)
Thu. September 21, 8pm

Portsmouth Maritime Folk Festival
September 22-24

Chris Klaxton & Shaman Denominator ($5)
Fri. September 29, 9pm


our books

OUR BOOKS

Books are here to stay. Gizmos and screens are fun and convenient; they have their place—up the road toward the malls. Here, down in the center of Portsmouth, we’re about browsing, about celebrating well written, well designed books on all subjects. Together we have over seventy-five years of experience buying and selling books. We buy books through the door from customers, travel to purchase significant private collections, and cherry-pick our way through warehouses all over the northeast. One of us specializes in academic titles, philosophy, and the social sciences; another, a poet and memoirist, specializes in the arts; and our third partner specializes in cookbooks and children’s. Our stock changes weekly as the three of us love to hunt down and purchase new stuff.

Our Book Buying Policy

We buy books daily but ask that you call for an appointment.
We offer cash and/or store credit for your books.
We are selective and only accept the books we purchase.
We do not accept donations.