40 Pleasant St
Portsmouth, NH 03801
603.427.9197

OPEN 7 DAYS
SUN - TUE : 10am–10pm
WED & THU : 10am–midnight
FRI - SAT : 10am–1am

Facebookfind us on facebook

upcoming

Open Mic
Wed. December 12, 7:30pm

Sabrina Benaim w/support from Clementine Von Radics ($20 advance)
Thu. December 13, 7pm

A Very Smutty Christmas Toy Drive
Fri. December 14, 7pm

Klaxton ($5)
Fri. December 14, 9pm

Fox + Roy w/Young Frontier ($7)
Sat. December 15, 8pm

Open Mic
Wed. December 19, 7:30pm

Beat Night
Thu. December 20, 7pm

Great Bay Sailor ($10)
Fri. December 21, 8pm

Ray DeMarco ($5)
Sat. December 22, 8pm

Abrielle Scharff
Sun. December 23, 7pm

Christmas Eve closing at 6pm
Mon. December 24

Christmas Day closed
Tue. December 25

Open Mic
Wed. December 26, 7:30pm

Dali McDaniels ($5)
Fri. December 28, 9pm

Kemp Harris ($10 advance / $15 door)
Sat. December 29, 8pm

NYE Celebration w/Elroy & Paco the G Train Bandit ($10)
Mon. December 31, 7pm

Open Mic
Wed. January 2, 7:30pm

Alex Anthony ($5)
Thu. January 3, 9pm

Amorphous Band ($5)
Fri. January 4, 9pm

Liz Bills ($5)
Sat. January 5, 9pm

Writers' Night Out
Mon. January 7, 7pm

Open Mic
Wed. January 9, 7:30pm

Peter Prince ($5)
Fri. January 11, 9pm

Supernothing ($10)
Sat. January 12, 9pm

Weird Turn Pro
Mon. January 14, 8pm

Open Mic
Wed. January 16, 7:30pm

Beat Night
Thu. January 17, 7pm

B3 Kings ($5)
Fri. January 18, 9pm

Phaneuf & Dozet ($5)
Sat. January 19, 9pm

Open Mic
Wed. January 23, 7:30pm

Read Free or Die
Thu. January 24, 7pm

Chris Klaxton Quartet ($5)
Fri. January 25, 9pm

GA 20 Blues ($5)
Sat. January 26, 9pm

Book & Bar(s) Hip Hop Night
Mon. January 28, 7pm

Henna Night with Jess
Tue. January 29, 5:30pm

Open Mic
Wed. January 30, 7:30pm

Katie Dobbins ($5)
Fri. February 1, 9pm

Young Frontier ($5)
Sat. February 2, 9pm

Rebecca Loebe w/ Connor Garvey ($18 advance)
Sat. February 23, 8pm


our books

OUR BOOKS

Books are here to stay. Gizmos and screens are fun and convenient; they have their place—up the road toward the malls. Here, down in the center of Portsmouth, we’re about browsing, about celebrating well written, well designed books on all subjects. Together we have over seventy-five years of experience buying and selling books. We buy books through the door from customers, travel to purchase significant private collections, and cherry-pick our way through warehouses all over the northeast. One of us specializes in academic titles, philosophy, and the social sciences; another, a poet and memoirist, specializes in the arts; and our third partner specializes in cookbooks and children’s. Our stock changes weekly as the three of us love to hunt down and purchase new stuff.

Our Book Buying Policy

We buy books daily but ask that you call for an appointment.
We offer cash and/or store credit for your books.
We are selective and only accept the books we purchase.
We do not accept donations.