40 Pleasant St
Portsmouth, NH 03801
603.427.9197

OPEN 7 DAYS
SUN - THU : 10a–10p
FRI - SAT : 10a–midnight

Facebookfind us on facebook

upcoming

Open mic with Amanda Dane and Jenna Sarno
Wed. November 15, 8pm

Beat Night
Thu. November 16, 7pm

The Scharff Brothers ($5)
Fri. November 17, 8pm

Ameranouche ($5)
Sat. November 18, 8pm

ShakesBEERience
Mon. November 20, 6:30pm

Open mic with Andrew Polikow
Wed. November 22, 8pm

closed for Thanksgiving
Thu. November 23

Elroy ($5)
Fri. November 24, 9pm

David Drouin (of Cold Engines) solo debut ($5)
Sat. November 25, 9pm

Read Free or Die
Thu. November 30, 7pm

Sojoy ($5)
Fri. December 1, 9pm

The Mystix unplugged ($5)
Sat. December 2, 9pm

Writers' Night Out
Mon. December 4, 7pm

Open mic with Andrea Belaidi
Wed. December 6, 7:30pm

The Lookbacks ($5)
Fri. December 8, 9pm

Drink 'n' Draw
Tue. December 12, 7pm

Open mic
Wed. December 13, 7pm

Kris Ringman, book event
Thu. December 14, 8pm

The Stairwells ($5)
Sat. December 16, 8pm


our books

OUR BOOKS

Books are here to stay. Gizmos and screens are fun and convenient; they have their place—up the road toward the malls. Here, down in the center of Portsmouth, we’re about browsing, about celebrating well written, well designed books on all subjects. Together we have over seventy-five years of experience buying and selling books. We buy books through the door from customers, travel to purchase significant private collections, and cherry-pick our way through warehouses all over the northeast. One of us specializes in academic titles, philosophy, and the social sciences; another, a poet and memoirist, specializes in the arts; and our third partner specializes in cookbooks and children’s. Our stock changes weekly as the three of us love to hunt down and purchase new stuff.

Our Book Buying Policy

We buy books daily but ask that you call for an appointment.
We offer cash and/or store credit for your books.
We are selective and only accept the books we purchase.
We do not accept donations.