40 Pleasant St
Portsmouth, NH 03801
603.427.9197

OPEN 7 DAYS
SUN - THU : 10a–10p
FRI - SAT : 10a–midnight

Facebookfind us on facebook

upcoming

Dennis Brennan trio, featuring Duke Levine and Kevin Barry ($5)
Sat. May 27, 9pm

Chris Trapper ($15)
Thu. June 1, 8pm

Bobby Keyes Trio ($5)
Fri. June 2, 9pm

The Rocky Sessions
Tue. June 6, 8pm

Abrielle Scharff ($5)
Sat. June 10, 9pm

Drink 'n' Draw
Tue. June 13, 7pm

Ray DeMarco and friends ($5)
Sat. June 17, 8pm

Cormac McCarthy, legendary Portsmouth songwriter
Sat. June 24, 9pm

Kendall Moore Group ($5)
Fri. June 30, 9pm

Lex and Joe ($5)
Sat. July 8, 9pm


 


our books

OUR BOOKS

Books are here to stay. Gizmos and screens are fun and convenient; they have their place—up the road toward the malls. Here, down in the center of Portsmouth, we’re about browsing, about celebrating well written, well designed books on all subjects. Together we have over seventy-five years of experience buying and selling books. We buy books through the door from customers, travel to purchase significant private collections, and cherry-pick our way through warehouses all over the northeast. One of us specializes in academic titles, philosophy, and the social sciences; another, a poet and memoirist, specializes in the arts; and our third partner specializes in cookbooks and children’s. Our stock changes weekly as the three of us love to hunt down and purchase new stuff.

Our Book Buying Policy

We buy books daily but ask that you call for an appointment.
We offer cash and/or store credit for your books.
We are selective and only accept the books we purchase.
We do not accept donations.